Back in the summer, Zen moved from its Scarborough location to Markham. Since I live closer to the old location, I’ve always wondered what became of it! Today, I went back to find out.

The new entrance

The new entrance

Location: 2803 Eglinton Ave East
Phone #:  416-265-7111
Website: http://nakamori.ca/
Hours of Operation: Tue-Fri 11:30 am – 2:00 pm, Tue-Sat 5:30 pm – 9:30 pm

Their lunch menu

Their lunch menu

And of course, drinks

And of course, drinks

I was really hoping for the best here, so I ended up going for the omakase course for one.

Japanese Caprese. Caprese is my favourite!

Japanese Caprese. Caprese is my favourite!

The waitress claimed that these tomatoes were of the kumato variety, which comes from an especially flavourful variant of tomato originally developed in Spain. While it lacked the distinguishably dark hue that a kumato usually had, it still had a nice flavour to it. It also came with Shiso sugar (nice) and red wine salt (which made one of my tomato slices too salty).

Miso Soup + citrus and seafood

Miso Soup + citrus and seafood

Yuzu zest, sweet scallops, and small shrimps (that didn’t have their shells off). The soup was flavourful, but really just a miso soup at the end of the day.

A... Sushi pizza pulled pork burger?

A… Sushi pizza pulled pork burger?

This was aggressively flavourful and not something I’ve ever seen at a Japanese place before. This dish is what really showed me that Nakamori was a very different beast from Zen. The flavours were interesting and unique.

Japanese Caesar Salad, Teriyaki Steak

Japanese Caesar Salad, Teriyaki Steak

Don’t worry, that minced pink stuff on the steak is just grated radish, which was cooked to a nice medium rare. The Teriyaki sauce wasn’t too sweet and the steak was fairly tender. It also came with a Japanese version of caesar salad using watercress, parmesan, and a fried tofu crouton. The tofu had a rather interesting crispy/jerky-esque texture throughout but was quite bland.

HOLY SAUS BAUS BATMAN

HOLY SAUS BAUS BATMAN

This tempura shrimp with its mountain of batter and sea of wasabi mayo was once again quite powerfully flavoured. It actually didn’t taste half-bad, but I question the need to douse something in that much sauce! Next to it was a jerk spice chicken karaage. Once again, aggressively seasoned and somewhat overwhelming for the palate. Also, it was a tiny bit bitter.

Sushi

Left to right: Saba (Mackerel), Aburi Hotate (Blowtorched Scallop), Shrimp, Salmon, Hamachi (Yellowtail), Tuna 

Quite fresh. The scallop was nice and sweet, but the highlight for this part was the mackerel. This was probably the best part of the meal for me — kind of wish Chef Nobu focused more on showcasing his product.

truly ICE cream

truly ICE cream\

Freezerburn ice cream complete with extreme crystallization! Somewhat crunchy!  Wow!

TL;DR: It seems I got slightly angry as I wrote this. Pretty much everything I had was very powerfully seasoned and I lost a sense of the actual quality of the product. The sushi is still ok and if I ever do come back, I think I’m just going to stick to the maki and nigiri. I probably won’t be back any time soon though.

 

Click to add a blog post for NAKAMORI on Zomato

Leave a Reply

