In my quest to try everything around my current workplace, I recently went to try Leslieville Pumps. One of the better decisions I’ve made with my life.

Gas Station, convenience store, and AMAZING BBQ.

Gas Station, convenience store, and AMAZING BBQ.

Website: http://leslievillepumps.com/LPUMPS/HOME.html
Phone #: (416) 465-1313
Hours of Operation: 24/7
Pro-Tip: Their smoked beef brisket sandwich has been rated as the best sandwich in Toronto by the Toronto Life magazine for good reason…

One day I worked for over 12 hours. It was a very sad day. I didn’t know what to do with my life anymore. So I decided I’d eat some barbeque in hopes of restoring my soul. Cue Leslieville Pumps coming to the rescue!

a shiny table.

a shiny table.

Since it was my first time there, I wasn’t sure what to order. The lady I ordered from was very nice and recommended that I try their smoked beef brisket sandwich, which was what they were best known for. Feeling a little extra sad, I also ordered some corn fritters.

oooo baby

oooo baby

Crispy shoestring onion, fatty, tender, moist hunks of beef brisket slathered in smoky BBQ sauce, and topped with some grainy mustard. It’s not rocket science, but this is pretty much one of the best sandwiches I’ve ever eaten. It literally re-invigorated my soul and made life okay again.

Fritters as well, just for fun

Fritters as well, just for fun

Fluffy pillows that helped to provide contrast to the rich, powerful flavours of the sandwich. They gave me a fresh herb dipping sauce as well to allow me to pretend to be somewhat healthy.

TL;DR: Go to Leslieville Pumps and get the Beef Brisket sandwich. You won’t regret it!

Leslieville Pumps on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

