Seriously. Just read.

Everything I'm about to show you is from this restaurant

Everything I’m about to show you is from this restaurant

Website: http://mrgreek.com/scarborough
Phone #:  416-335-4123
Hours of Operation: Sunday-Thursday, 11-10, Friday & Saturday 11-11
Pro-Tip: Just try it! Especially their souvlaki, which I forgot to take a picture of because of all the cries of OPA! and flaming wedges of saganaki (which I also couldn’t snap a shot of… the ultimate failure) all around the restaurant.

i fancy now

i fancy now

scroll down for the food pics :P

scroll down for the food pics 😛

This has been a favourite of mine for a while and I don’t understand exactly why they they aren’t packed at peak hours all the time. It’s definitely no-frills and the space is a little dated, but it is also spacious, welcoming, warm and most importantly packed with amazing food at great prices.

Let's start with these tentacles

Let’s start with these tentacles

I almost always get the fried calamari when I come to this location. Just-crispy-enough lovely loops of squid that have the ideal amount of bite. Sometimes you go to all sorts of other chains like Milestones, Jack Astors, etc, and you order a calamari and it’s bland because it hasn’t been seasoned properly. This is 100% not the case with this one!

Originally the friend I was with had this all wrapped up so I took a picture of a wrapping, it was the best shot of the evening.

Originally the friend I was with had this all wrapped up so I took a picture of a wrapping, it was the best shot of the evening.

This is their pork souvlaki in a pita with some of their yummy roasted potatoes. Their tzatziki isn’t out of this world, but it’s still creamy, flavourful and helps to accentuate whatever you put it on. Seriously, tzatziki is like a magical sauce/spread that lubricates your mouth and makes nearly anything possible.  By the way, they also have beef and chicken souvlaki!

I love watching people carve from that huge meat log to get these slices of meat

I love watching people carve from that huge meat log to get these slices of meat

Gyros! My other friend got a slightly larger meal that comes with what was nearly an entree-sized Greek salad on the side along with these massive potatoes (it’s not just the picture guys, it’s pretty much 2 whole potatoes). The meat itself has great flavour according to my pal, even though it’s a little dry.

Sweet tooth?

Unfortunately this wasn’t anywhere near as big as it looked in this pic. The power of angles, people!

What’s not to love about layer upon layer of crispy and airy phyllo pastry sheets, a heapful of chopped nuts, and syrupy honey just barely holding it all together? To be fair it was a little sweet for me, but that’s nothing a little water wouldn’t fix.

TL;DR: This place is legitimately underrated and I’m hoping at least 1 person sees this and decides to give it a shot! I don’t think you’d be disappointed.

 

2 thoughts on “Mr. Greek @ Kennedy Commons: This place is SO underrated…

  1. I’ve been to this Mr. Greek location many a times. The service most times is decent, but nothing superb, but I do agree that the food is great. This is one of the few Mr. Greek locations my husband will visit and there are plenty others closer to us (he’s just silly picky). Calamari is definitely a win here.

Leave a Reply

