Hey, so before I write up this post I just wanted to apologize real quick for taking so darn long to post anything. I’ve been working on an article about the best All-Day Breakfasts in Toronto for Toronto.com so I’ve been pretty tied up. I’ll make it up to you guys later.

For now, let’s talk about Aoyama, a Japanese restaurant that I’ve been waiting to try for a while.

This is hopefully the last time you guys will bare witness to my terrible photography.

This is hopefully the last time you guys will bare witness to my terrible photography.

Website: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Aoyama-Sushi-Restaurant/137712542907521
Phone #: 416-494-7373

I’ve always been confuddled by their Hours of Operation, which is why I decided to take a picture to solve the mystery once and for all.

Delicious Hours

Delicious Hours

I came here with my family to celebrate a birthday and some festivities.

Aoyama Interior

A cute tree Aoyama uses to showcase its daily specials

 

Uni Handrolls were on special

Uni Handrolls were on special

Succulent, sweet fresh sea urchin surrounded by perfect sushi rice, crisp seaweed and not much else. Sometimes simple is best, though I really should have removed those random granules of rice before taking a picture…

The biggest spider roll I have ever seen

The biggest spider roll I have ever seen

For those unaware, this is avocado, crab roe, deep fried soft shell crab, seaweed, sesame seeds, and cucumber rolled up into one log of delicious sushi goodness. This is nothing like the roll you’d get at an All-You Can Eat place — the crab is made to order and thus is super crispy and warm. They don’t skimp on the portion of crab either, so you get yummy crab meat bursting in your mouth with every bite. While this isn’t a traditional roll, I’ve always thought of this as one of my absolute favourites.

behold my INCREDIBLE photography

behold my INCREDIBLE photography

This is a sashimi share platter with more sea urchin, king crab, tuna, yellowtail, salmon, scallop, sweet shrimps, squid, and BC tuna. I’m pretty surprised they just gave us regular cheap wasabi to go with a monstrosity like this. Everything was really fresh. Standouts for me were the amaebi, hotate and hamachi.

TL;DR: Fresh fish and premium prices. Location is small and intimate, service is nice. No real missteps. My parents and I all think Zen Japanese Restaurant is superior in terms of quality for a similar price point. But this place is still good when Zen is not open.

PS – Here’s a little sneak peek at my new and improved photography skills. After looking at these photo abominations, it’s the least I can do.

hopefully this is a little better

hopefully this is a little better

This is from Le Petit Dejeuner for an article I wrote on Toronto.com. I’ll post it for everyone when the full article comes out. Cheers all!

Aoyama Sushi on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

