I’ve been walking by this restaurant too many times to not try it at least once. From what I’ve heard about Hiro, this place is a haven for authentic, traditional Japanese fare.

I like that blue on grey colouration

I like that blue on grey colouration

Hours of Operation: Tuesday – Friday 12:00pm-2:30pm, Tuesday – Saturday 5:30pm-10:30pm
Phone #: 416-304-0550
Website: http://www.hirosushi.ca/index.html

The master doing his master things.

The master doing his master things.

His homemade soy sauce.

His homemade soy sauce.

Before we begin, let it be noted that A) I made the rookie mistake of not taking pictures of everything, and B) Hiro LOVES HIS WASABI. Fortunately, I love wasabi too. But not everyone is masochistic like me.

I was feeling adventurous, so I got an omakase.

A menage et trois of salmon ( from left to right: normal, gravlax, smoked)

A menage et trois of salmon ( from left to right: normal, gravlax, smoked)

I really like how he makes ordinary ingredients shine with his preparation methods.

I really like how he makes ordinary ingredients like this escolar shine with his preparation methods.

Marinated in some of his homemade sauce

Tuna marinated in some of his homemade sauce

Slightly smoked in house, albacore tuna

Slightly smoked in house, albacore tuna. Probably my favourite piece of the day

Who doesn't love monk fish liver? Most people, but this sea butter + a light hit of sea salt = divine

Who doesn’t love monk fish liver? Most people, but this sea butter + a light hit of sea salt = divine. I can’t get enough of this stuff.

Normally marinated, mackerel is in season now so he just served it fresh. Great meaty texture and a surprisingly clean taste with just a hint of smoky fish flavour. The ginger and green onion probably helped cut the fishiness as well.

Normally marinated, mackerel is in season now so he just served it fresh. Great meaty texture and a surprisingly clean taste with just a hint of smoky fish flavour. The ginger and green onion probably helped cut the fishiness as well.

I also had a piece of flounder, a little Nova Scotia sea urchin (which was smaller, but much sweeter than its Vancouver variant).

Oh, and this weird roll with raw Burdock root in it.

nooo

nooo

Tried to keep this one short and sweet, but to sum it up: Hiro is great at making the ordinary extraordinary with his unique ways of smoking and marinating, but this isn’t really my style. I don’t really think he liked me much either — he was prepping a section of o-toro and conspicuously put it away instead of bothering to serve it to me.

So I had a total of 10 pieces plus that strange Burdock root roll. Wasn’t the best use of my money, but at least I finally tried this place. I’ll probably just stick to Zen, Sushi Couture, Kokyo, or Wow Sushi if I want my Japanese food fix.

Hiro Sushi on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

