My parents sang praise of a Malaysian restaurant and repeatedly advised that I go. Being a dutiful and loving son, I hastened to oblige.

This is really long...

This is really long…

Location: 4466 Sheppard Ave. E., Unit 101
Price
: $
Hours of Operation: Mon-Thur: 11am-10:30pm, Fri-Sat: 11am-11:30pm, Sun: 11am-11pm
Phone #:  416-332-8765
Website: http://www.gourmetmalaysia.ca

this was not the guest friend's handiwork...

this was not the guest friend’s handiwork…

My friends and I entered this restaurant together. As we walked towards our table, I nonchalantly snapped a shot of the restaurant and my friend remarked that I had lost my sense of shame. What shame?

"some phallic object"

“some phallic object”

One of my buddies decided he would order this. I can’t remember what it was called, but it was rather bulbous and my friend told me it was just okay. It’s always important to remember that size isn’t everything!

Perfect, bowl-shaped rice.

Perfect, bowl-shaped rice.

We had all heard that curry was a pretty good option here, so some of my friends opted to try various iterations of chicken curry. Since I was a fool who did not order curry, I pleaded with my friend to give me a taste of his sauce. He obliged. It was pretty good; not too spicy, and strong aromatic flavours from the garlic, cumin, tumeric, ginger, and countless other ingredients.

Incredible Curry Chicken Roti

Incredible Curry Chicken Roti

My smarter friend ended up trying the roti. Flaky, buttery outer crust with an extraordinarily fluffy interior, these blankets of deliciousness were a perfect accompaniment to the sauce. I think I could eat out nearly every day if I just went to Gourmet Malaysia and ordered this.

"it was okay, didn't blow my mind" - My friend

“it was okay, didn’t blow my mind…” – My friend

This is a weekend only item that my friend assumed must be pretty good. It was a spicy seafood noodle soup and that’s pretty much it. Sometimes it’s important not to work yourself up too much before the real thing, because it can really mess with the actual event. In this case, it was my friend’s first time trying something like this, and it ended up being rather disappointing.

Velvety morsels of chicken

Velvety morsels of Hainanese chicken (and more perfect bowl-shapes)

Four pieces of really good chicken, a flavoured rice and a spicy, gingery sauce. There was also a soup that I assume was lubrication for my throat since the rice was kind of dry. That being said, the taste of the rice was really good, and while the portion of chicken wasn’t large, it would be sizable enough to fill a smaller appetite. It’s only $8.50, and most importantly, it is probably one of the best Hainanese-style chickens I’ve had in a long time. Next time, I’d consider just going all the way and buying half a Hainanese Chicken for $14.

I had a battle with this beef satay

I had a battle with this beef satay

My friends claimed they’d never seen me sweat that much before. The reason for this is that the satay sauce for this dry meat was incredibly searing hot. One of my other friends who just tried tasting the sauce immediately broke out into a cold sweat on his forehead.

Despite how spicy this was, it was actually really tasty. Be warned: I’m actually fairly good with spicy, and these meat sticks made my mouth numb for a while. Don’t underestimate them just because they look small — they hit you hard! If they had been bigger, I don’t think I would have been able to finish them all.

TL;DR: Size isn’t everything, but it’s important sometimes. This place was pretty good but order wisely!

 

Gourmet Malaysia on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

