Sorry I haven’t been blogging for a while! Haven’t really been to any noteworthy places. Busy semester. But okay seriously I’ve been a UofT Student for four years now! How did I not know about this place? I’m ashamed of myself! So you guys don’t have to suffer the same fate as I, I’m blogging about this right now!

It was right behind Robarts all along...

Location: 673 Spadina Ave
Price: Less than $10 for any entree, lunch OR dinner I believe.
Phone #: (416)598-5522
Website: http://daddyospasta.com/

One of the original goals of this blog was to help UofT students find cheap grub on campus. This pretty much epitomizes that, where lunch/dinner do not cost more than $10. I don’t even think you need to tip the guy! They serve a variety of pastas, like the good ol’ spaghetti and meatballs, along with sea food pastas, chicken alfredo, meat and vegetarian lasagna, stuff like that.

Standard Stuff~

Their decor is nothing to write home about. They’ve got an open kitchen, a little freezer for drinks, and the owner takes your order at the cash register. Food comes out in like 5-10 minutes max.  But we’re not here for the decor!

Cheesy Garlic Pita Bread is not Cheesy Garlic Bread!

First off I ordered a little appetizer of cheesy garlic bread since I was rather famished. Sadly this looked nothing like I thought it would. There wasn’t enough cheese, nor was there enough oozy gooey melty stringy cheesiness that makes me love cheesy garlic bread so. Still, it was an okay appetizer for like $3. Nothing to write home about though! Someone needs to hook me up with a place that has amazing cheesy garlic bread (like Pizza Hut…)

Here we go!

Considering that a lot of restaurants charge you like $12 for spaghetti and meat balls, a $9 lunch or dinner for a large sized portion with six meat balls is a pretty good deal (don’t even get me started on Mr. Vanelli’s or Boston Pizza and their stupid meatball thing). The pasta itself was al dente, the tomato sauce had real tomatos and was just slightly sweet along with the usual tangy, salty flavors of a standard tomato sauce. The owner came by and offered some fresh ground pepper and cheese too, which I gratefully accepted. A big bowl of hearty pasta is really filling, and it’s awesome when the pasta is actually good and not entirely overpriced.

Final Thoughts: Let’s just say I’m planning on coming here a lot more in the future. This isn’t a 10/10 place by any means but it’s got solid delicious food and it’s literally right on campus outside of a major library, it fills you up and it’s less than $10 for a pasta! Totally check it out if you need some quick filling grub. 8/10

PS – Anyone have any awesome restaurants they want to tell me about? 🙂

 

One thought on “Daddyos: Or, Why did it take me Four Years to go here?

Leave a Reply

