Well, this will be the last update before the new year! While it’s not anything crazy amazing, I am fulfilling a request made by one of my viewers from a while ago, and Tokyo Kitchen happens to have the best teriyaki I have eaten in recent memory.

I have so many hidden gems it's like a treasure chest of delectable

Location: 20 Charles St E
Phone #: (416)515-0387
Price: $ cheap cheap cheap! I swear I saw a dynamite/spider roll thing for $5.50. Maybe I was going crazy.
Website: N/A

Approximately 30 seats anyways

 

If I recall correctly this place is fairly close to Bloor Station. Once again this is slightly hidden from easy perusal, and there are only about 30 seats. This is actually an authentic Japanese place — I can tell despite my failure at attempting to understand the Japanese language in school. There are stories of how good the cooked food is here at Tokyo Kitchen, so I decided to eat as many cooked things as possible. The waitress was pretty nice and cheerful, which was a nice change from some of the very angry and scary looking servers I’ve encountered recently over the Winter break. I guess I can’t blame them, there are certainly places they would rather be than working.

ben-to

There was no complimentary miso soup with this $9.99 bento box, but I’m okay with that since I’m not exceptionally hungry in the first place.

I decide to start with the fabled teriyaki.

It touches my lips.

I had a moment — I think it’s called a ‘foodgasm’, a ‘foodie epiphany’, a cacophony of majestic flavoring coloring my tastebuds in a most approving manner. Yes, it was odd. My tastebuds were seemingly shocked at how good this teriyaki sauce was. I sort of wish that there was at least one more shrimp but I guess other parts of this box made up for it. The california rolls and salmon sushi were both okay, not super exceptional, and the salad was pretty standard fare. But that tempura basket! Let’s zoom in on it for a second because this ain’t your every day walk in the tempura basket park.

Title: wtftempuraoverload.jpg

See now I get why there were only two teriyaki shrimp. There were at least large piping hot shrimp tempura here along with an assortment of vegetables (green beans, onion, yam, zucchini, red pepper, broccoli) that numbered in the region of fifteen pieces. It was intense. This wasn’t cruddy leftover soggy tempura either, it was -so- fresh that I had to wait for it to cool down a little before indulging in the oily crispy goodness. To be a Nanny Nitpick though this might be too much for lesser stomachs to handle. You have been warned.

Final Thoughts: Funny story that has nothing to do with final thoughts except it does: they have no washroom inside, so when I had to go to the washroom, they gave me a key and instructed me to run outside (winter weather :D) to the nextdoor parking lot and to use a key to get into there. I, of course, having terrible directional sense run a lap around the building and find a strip club or something and run back to do another lap, only to get stopped by the waitress who points out the proper way to go. Pretty funny for me but I dunno if everyone will like that.

Other than that the food was pretty good, though admittedly I haven’t had their non-cooked stuff yet. Their spicy scallop/dynamite/spider rolls look tempting though. I will try again. For now, 8/10. 

Cheers!

PS – as this is my last post of the year I would like to wish you all the best in 2012, and to pass along some philosophificationaries.

Nothing would be more tiresome than eating and drinking if God had not made them a pleasure as well as a necessity.  ~Voltaire

Leave a Reply

