Recently, I had to go see a play at SoulPepper for a Canadian drama class. Believe it or not, it was my first time in the Distillery District! There was a wealth of things to explore in this oddly charming site.


I actually wish I had taken more pictures before I went into the theatre. As it stands, I checked out two places:  the  Brick Street Bakery and Somo Chocolate Maker!

Oddly foreboding, but it's quite warm inside

 

The inside is fairly cramped, but it still manages to be warm and inviting. Probably the smells of fresh baked goods and the cheerful cashier at work.

that's pretty much the entire waiting space.

 

They also have a crap load of awesome baked goods, like CHEESE CAKE TARTS. Oh god they are so delicious. Just writing about them now makes me want to buy a dozen more.

DAT CHEESECAKE TART

For dinner, I decided to grab a cheap BLT. After a short wait time, it came with perfectly crispy bacon, fresh lettuce, juicy tomato, just a hint of mayo and a slightly toasted bun. Pretty darn tasty, and I know my BLTs!

I can never do justice to sandwich pictures...

 

For more information about Brick Street, check out their website at: http://brickstreetbakery.ca/index2.php#/home/.

Next, as I walked closer to the theater, I couldn’t help but be attracted to the sign that said “chocolate maker.” (Who can resist chocolate??)

Chocolate? Did you say... CHOCOLATE? CHOCOLATTEEEE

Get the reference? I went inside and I was assaulted by all manner of chocolates! Jesus.

Chocolate making machines!

CHOCOLATEEEEEEEEEEEEE~

Since I wanted to try too much, I went with the expresso and vanilla bean gelato.

SO DELICIOUS

Man, the expresso was super super rich and velvety, coating the cool vanilla bean gelato to add that distinct, coffee bitterness to the otherwise sweet frozen dessert. It’s definitely a good pick me up too, I totally couldn’t get to bed until like 3 or 4 am that night. I still remember it clearly even though it was like a month ago…

Final Thoughts: The Distillery District is beautiful. It’s kind of like you’re stepping into a little piece of history! It’d be a good place to explore, and probably a good place to take a date. It’s not too hard to get to either by TTC! Cheers. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Adventures in the Distillery District

Leave a Reply

