I haven’t been to a Rainforest Cafe ever since they closed down the STC location for an Old Navy! ****ing Old Navy.

For once, a lighted sign that shows up on my camera!

Location: 3401 Dufferin Street, Section B11
Price: $$$. Pretty pricey for what they’re offering.
Website: http://www.rainforestcafe.com/

Okay I’m not always a sucker for niche restaurants that are almost all style and no substance. However, Rainforest Cafe holds a special nostalgia factor for me. I think the last time I went was when I was 10 or 12.

Moving very fast, this gator.

They have alligators!

NEMOOOOOO

Nemo!

I had to look on google to remember who exactly this was. I'm not proud of myself. 😦

Some dude (Atlas probably) holding up the world!

And thunderstorms. I included a (bad) video for your viewing pleasure which I will upload once I figure out how to do it. It occurs to me that I should have done my best Crocodile Dundee impression. Alas, retrospect.

In any case, scenery aside, I’m here to blog about the food and the service. So after my girlfriend and I sat down and waited for a while, our waitress finally came to take our order. We decided on a rainforest burger with chips, and a Pastalaya with chicken and shrimp. The waitress gladly obliged when my girlfriend asked for no sausage in the pasta dish. We also resolved on having the chocolate volcano for dessert.

So big! (That's what she said)

This burger was pretty big, and pretty good. The meat was not too dry, nicely juicy, and the onion ring, mushrooms, and bacon really helped to elevate the burger’s flavor profile. The chips were kettle chips, like Ms. Vickies. I think they fried them fresh. I love fresh chips! The burger was also massive. After making a bet, I realized that I could only just barely bite through the entire thing after fully opening my mouth.

Looks kinda eh.

The pastalaya. Way too spicy! Not enough shrimp and chicken. Portion size was good. But definitely stay away from it if you’re bad with spice.

This thing was bigger than my entire head.

This volcano… they said it was for two people, but I really doubt that. I’m sure we could have had at least one more person around and just barely managed to finish it. It was just a delicious chocolatey, vanilla-icecream brownie burst of explosive dessert happiness. It had better be, for $14.99. I feel like they pretty much took three single servings of a dessert and just threw it all together. Pretty much the  best food of the night.

Conclusion: Did it live up to my nostalgia? No. But I did realize something. When we went in, families were rolling in with their children, who were totally psyched to be in a rainforest, filled with elephants, monkeys, aquariums, and thunderstorms.  While the food isn’t amazing, the atmosphere is. And really, it is a little magical.

I’m going to give this place a 6.5/10 for the food and service alone. Though if I were to add in the atmosphere, it’d be a 7.5/10.

Cheers!

One thought on “Rainforest Cafe: Thunderstorms @ Yorkdale

Leave a Reply

